← Back

2015 Village Award Winner: Bonnie Slotnick Cookbooks

This is the second of six posts highlighting 2015 Annual Awards recipients. Visit here for more information on the 2015 Village Awards and Annual Meeting. The first blog post highlighted Barbara Shaum. Our second Annual Award winner is Bonnie Slotnick Cookbooks. Bonnie Slotnick has lived on West 10th Street since 1976 and has been the owner of Bonnie Slotnick Cookbooks for over 15 years.

The new Bonnie Slotnick Cookbooks located at East 2nd Street
The new Bonnie Slotnick Cookbooks located at East 2nd Street

Bonnie Slotnick Cookbooks specializes in antiquarian and out-of-print books on food, beverages, etiquette, entertaining, and housekeeping. The shelves are wonderfully organized: books on various ethnic cuisine such as French, African, Jewish, Latin, Chinese, and Irish; books from different American regions such as New England, the South, and the Midwest; recipe books for breakfast, chocolate, herbs and spices, vegetarian, dairy, food preserving and canning, and appetizers are just a few of the categories offered. Guide books on restaurants and fine dining can also be found. M.F.K. Fisher has a shelf of her own and many other legendary food writers and chefs’ publications are represented including Craig Claiborne, Julia Child, Marian Cunningham, Edna Lewis, James Beard, and Pierre Franey. The bookstore opens onto a garden, where you can sit and decide which books you want to take home.

In November, 2014, Bonnie lost her lease on her West 10th Street store. Garth and Margo Johnston, owners of a building on East 2nd Street, read about her plight in Jeremiah’s Vanishing New York. They offered her a ground floor space, three times the size of her old location, at a reasonable rate. GVSHP is happy to highlight this great story at our 2015 Village Award ceremony. GVSHP thanks Bonnie Slotnick and Garth and Margo Johnson for their contributions in making the Village such a great place to live and shop.

Please join us at the New School, 66 West 12th Street, on Wednesday, June 17, 2015 from 6:30 – 8:00 P.M. to honor the Award recipients. The ceremony is free but reservations are required. To register, please call (212) 475-9585 ext. 35 or email.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *