Site-Specific Works at The New School Art Collection: A talk and slideshow with curator Silvia Rocciolo

Learn about the history of The New School through the lens of important site-specific art. From the 1931 José Orozco frescos to Glenn Ligon’s neon commission for the new University Center, the eleven site specific artworks in The New School Art Collection are focal points that serve as rich markers of the university’s institutional identity.

Join curator Silvia Rocciolo for a virtual tour of these commissions. Beginning with the Joseph Urban building at 66 West 12th, we will learn about commissions by Orozco, Camilo Egas, Martin Puryear, Gonzalo Fonseca and Dave Muller. From here we’ll move then to Arnhold Hall at 55 West 13th to learn about the Sol LeWitt, Kara Walker, and Brian Tolle murals, concluding with the University Center on 5th Avenue to learn about recent commissions by Alfredo Jaar, Glenn Ligon, and Rita McBride.

Tuesday, May 24, 2016
6:30 pm

Hoerle Lecture Hall
The New School, University Center, 63 Fifth Avenue at 13th Street