← Back

2015 Village Awards and Annual Meeting

Join us on Wednesday, June 17th for the 35th GVSHP Annual Meeting and 25th Village Awards

Co-hosted by The New School

TNS logo small horizontal (5)

The Village Awards recognize the people, places, and organizations which make a significant contribution to the quality of life in Greenwich Village, the East Village, and NoHo. The Awards and Annual Meeting will be held at The New School for Social Research building auditorium. The striking 500-seat art deco auditorium,  designed in 1931, was designated an interior New York City landmark in 1997 — one of the very few in New York City, and one of the only ones in Greenwich Village. Read its designation report and see pictures here and read additional history and see more picture of the space here.

Congratulations to the 2015 Village Award Recipients:Awards2

Barbara Shaum: Legendary Village sandal maker and small business owner. A Village fixture since the 1950’s, she was the first women to be served at McSorley’s Ale House in 1970.

Bonnie Slotnick: West 10th Street resident since 1976 and owner of Bonnie Slotnick Cookbooks. Her business recently moved to a larger space on East 2nd Street thanks to the kindness of her landlords, Margo and Garth Johnston. Come to the Awards and learn more about this great story.

David Rothenberg: Village resident, Broadway producer and publicist, journalist, educator, one of the first openly gay men to run for New York City Council, and founder of The Fortune Society.

The Renee & Chaim Gross Foundation: A hidden Greenwich Village gem located on Laguardia Place, this museum located in the former workshop of sculptor Chaim Gross has almost 10,000 items in its collection. The Foundation embodies the idea of a creative life and enables those who visit it to experience a way of life immersed in art.

201 East 12th Street Renovation: The owners and architects dutifully restored the beautiful cornices to this 1890’s mercantile building. This restoration was completely discretionary and for a non-landmarked building. While such restorations are common in historic districts, here the project was geared only towards improving the aesthetics as well as the long-term value and durability of the building.

Regina Kellerman Award Winners: James & Karla Murray: East Village residents, artists, authors, preservationists, and small business advocates. Their most recent book, Store Front –  The Disappearing Face of New York, is a shocking exposure of the changing New York City small businesses over the past 20 years.

At the Annual Meeting, Executive Director Andrew Berman will present the past year’s activities and accomplishments, and GVSHP members will vote on five returning Trustees and two new Trustees to the Board of Directors.

Returning Trustees include Mary Ann Arisman, Tom Birchard, Arthur Levin, Judith Stonehill, and Linda Yowell, and we are proud to welcome new Trustees Tom Cooper and Trevor Stewart.

Wednesday, June 17, 2015
6:30 – 8:00 P.M.
Free; reservations required

The Auditorium at The New School, 66 West 12th Street
[This venue is wheelchair accessible.] 

To register, please call (212) 475-9585 ext. 35 or email.

One response to “2015 Village Awards and Annual Meeting

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *